Clare Takes the Right Turn!

Clare Leury raced to an excellent victory in the fourth of the Wallsend Harriers Winter Grand Prix races and made amends for the first race in the series when she was inadvertently sent the wrong way by club Chairman Terry O'Gara.

The first to start in the yacht handicap event, Clare was never caught by the chasing pack of 24 runners and came home with almost thirty seconds to spare over runner-up Jo McCullogh.

With a deep frost beginning to form in the evening darkness, there were some initial concerns that the race may be postponed for the second consecutive week, but a quick inspection revealed the Silverlink course to be safe, with some sterling work from non-running members to warn competitors of the only frozen patch.

Trevor Reed ran strongly to finish in third place, ahead of Lee Morgan, taking advantage of a hugely favourable - and much-ridiculed - handicap, in fourth and Peter Joyce in fifth.

Fastest time on the night went to Gareth Huxley, in his first race of the series, with an impressive 17.53. Donna Horne was the fastest woman and sixth fastest overall with 19.16.

The overall table sees a new leader, as Trevor Reed took advantage of Brian Hetherington's absence to move to the top. Tony Maddocks is close behind in second with Dave Mitsides in third.

With the series now at the half-way point, some fifty-three runners have now taken part in at least one of the races.

Results (actual time in brackets)

Clare Leury 29.38 (26.38)
Jo McCullogh 30.07 (22.37)
Trevor Reed 30.09 (22.39)
Lee Morgan 30.35 (20.05)
Peter Joyce 30.42 (20.42)
Kevin Payne 30.50 (20.50)
Dave Moir 30.55 (18.25)
Ken Watson 31.07 (25.37)
Dan Weatherill 31.10 (18.40)
Mick Skeldon 31.13 (18.13)
Joe Masterson 31.15 (19.45)
Donna Horne 31.16 (19.16)
Darryl Roe 31.22 (20.22)
Emma Walton 31.27 (20.27)
Mick Baker 31.30 (20.00)
Billy Todd 31.33 (21.03)
Micky Todd 31.36 (20.06)
Tony Maddocks 31.40 (21.40)
Chris Robson 31.43 (19.43)
Graham King 31.50 (19.50)
Elspeth Lawson 31.51 (21.51)
Gareth Huxley 31.53 (17.53)
Simon Gibbs 32.11 (18.11)
Joanne Holmes 32.35 (26.05)
Dave Mitsides 33.00 (25.00)

Fastest Men

Gareth Huxley 17.53
Simon Gibbs 18.11
Mick Skeldon 18.13
Dave Moir 18.25
Dan Weatherill 18.40

Fastest Women

Donna Horne 19.16
Emma Walton 20.27
Elspeth Lawson 21.51
Jo McCullogh 22.37
Joanne Holmes 26.05

Winter Grand Prix

Article Date
Clare Takes the Right Turn! 10 Dec 2008
Race 4: A non-starter! 03 Dec 2008
Carter sets the Pace ! 04 Nov 2008
A Triumph for Telford !! 15 Oct 2008
Reed All About It.. 24 Sep 2008
Winter Grand Prix Gets Underway.. 19 Sep 2008
For 'Anoraks' only... 06 Mar 2008
It's Chrystal's Title !! 05 Mar 2008
Girls on Top !! 05 Feb 2008
Kerry Hits 60 !! 08 Jan 2008
Brown is Unbeaten this Year! 01 Jan 2008

Other Categories

Category Articles
General News 103
Race Results 34
Club Championship 1
Winter Grand Prix 13
Wallsend 10k Road Race 6
Social 8
NE Harrier League 9
Summer Grand Prix 10
Race Entries 1








Saltwell 10K

If you want to avoid the usual Christmas preparations, why not give the Saltwell 10K a try this S ...

Read More

Edinburgh Marathon

Anyone fancy a late Spring marathon in 2009 (31-5-09)? Edinburgh is a good flat course and if the ...

Read More

Christmas Draw results

The winning numbers in the annual Wallsend Harriers Christmas draw were as follows: ...

Read More


UK team selection rules changed

UK Athletics introduces new selection policies for the 2009 World Championships.

Read More

Women given Golden League boost

Male and female athletes are given an equal number of events in the 2009 Golden League series.

Read More

Bolt is not untouchable - Edgar

British sprinter Tyrone Edgar says Olympic 100 and 200m champion and world record holder Usain Bolt can be beaten next season.

Read More

from BBC Sport